June 24, 2021

Taisho Pharmaceutical appointed as Official Supplier of Rugby World Cup France 2023 ― following sponsorship of Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan ―

Taisho Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. (Headquarters: Tokyo, Chief Executive Officer: Shigeru Uehara, (hereinafter Taisho Pharmaceutical) announced today that it has decided to conclude an Official Supplier contract for Rugby World Cup France 2023 hosted by World Rugby and the Organising Committee, and to sponsor the competition.

Taisho Pharmaceutical has supported the development of rugby in Japan since 2001 when it was appointed as an official sponsor of the Japan National Rugby Teams. Since 2016, Taisho Pharmaceutical has served as an official partner for the Japanese National Team and was appointed top partner for the Japan National Rugby Team in 2020. Since 2002, Taisho Pharmaceutical became a title sponsor for matches between Japan National Rugby Teams and invited overseas teams. The company's support of rugby in Japan spans more than two decades.

Taisho Pharmaceutical’s participation in Rugby World Cup France 2023 as Official Supplier will benefit from its involvement in the previous tournament, joining with athletes, other stakeholders, and fans to make Rugby World Cup France 2023 an exciting rugby event. Through its flagship product Lipovitan D, Taisho Pharmaceutical will continue to support Rugby World Cup, sending a message of support to people who are striving positively to achieve their dreams.

Comment from France 2023 CEO Claude Atcher

“If rugby is so popular in Japan, we owe it to pioneer and loyal supporters like Taisho Pharmaceutical. We are honoured that such a player in the development of our sport, which has enabled it to emerge on new continents and reach new audiences, is committing with France 2023.
In the Land of the Rising Sun, the success of Rugby World Cup 2019 was phenomenal. With Taisho Pharmaceutical, we will have the ambition to do even better in France in 2023, to win the hearts of Japanese fans and beyond.”

Comment from Taisho Pharmaceutical Chief Executive Officer Shigeru Uehara

“The next Rugby World Cup after Japan will be held in 2023, which marks 200 years since the birth of rugby. We are honored to be able to participate as Official Supplier of Rugby World Cup France 2023 in this year of commemoration.
The holding of this event is expected to further promote the great sport of rugby and boost its popularity. ”

About Rugby World Cup France 2023

Rugby World Cup 2023 will take place in France from 8 September - 28 October with matches played in nine venues across 10 host cities. The tournament will be the 10th men’s Rugby World Cup and the second to be hosted by France after a memorable event in 2007.

RWC 2023 will take place in a year when the sport celebrates 200 years since Rugby School pupil William Webb Ellis was credited with inventing the game of rugby football by showing “a fine disregard for the rules” in catching the ball and running with it in 1823.

RWC 2023 will set new standards in social responsibility, inclusion and sustainability for a major rugby event, targeting four key pillars for the tournament’s legacy: acting for sustainability and circular economy, supporting education, training and employment, respecting and protecting the environment and promoting inclusivity by being a champion for gender equality.

The showpiece event in men’s rugby union 15s, Rugby World Cup 2023 will feature 20 teams – 12 of whom qualified directly by finishing in the top three in their pool at Japan 2019 and eight from a global qualification process – with 48 matches played across 51 days.

Overview of championship in France

Name of tournament

Rugby World Cup France 2023
  Official website: https://www.rugbyworldcup.com/2023/

Event period

September 8, 2023 (Friday) to October 28, 2023 (Saturday)

Cities hosting games 10 cities, 9 stadiums (Paris-Saint-Denis, Nice, Marseille, Toulouse, Bordeaux, Nantes, Lille, Lyon, Saint-Étienne)

Participating teams



Approximately 2.6 million (estimate)

Competition format

48 matches total Elimination pool: 5 teams x 4 pools (total 48 matches)


Quarter final, semi-final, third-place decider, final